The North Carolina Chapter of the Trail of Tears Association

Directors & Officers



Sue Abram 

Vice President

Carmaleta Monteith 


Robin Swayney


Anita Finger-Smith

National Board Representative

Ben Laseter (2021 – 2024)

National Board Representative

Anita Finger-Smith (2023 – 2026)


Tom Hatley (2021 – 2024)

Lamar Marshall (2021 – 2024)

Bob Timlin (2021 – 2024)

Paige Yelen (2021 – 2024)

Alan Keith (2023 – 2026)

Ben Laseter (2023 – 2026)

Dawn Arneach  (2023 – 2026)

Brett Riggs (Preservation Officer)

Robin Swayney (EBCI Tribal Liaison)

Anne Rogers (Past President)

NC Trail of Tears Association

Board Composition

  • NCTOTA board consists of (10) directors, including (1) preservation officer appointed by the board, (1) tribal liaison appointed by the EBCI Principal Chief, and (1) immediate past president.  This is in addition to the four elected executive officers.
  • The seven (7) ELECTED DIRECTORS have four (4) year staggered terms.
  • The two (2) Association Directors to the National Board have 2-year staggered terms.

Get in Touch

Contact Us

We welcome your questions and feedback. Please use the Contact Form to send us an email or reach out to our president directly.

Sue Abram, President
Address: PO Box 607, Whittier, NC 28729